Hiring Jeff Kennedy turned out to be one of the best decisions of my life. Mr. Kennedy was able to have my case dismissed. Yes, outright dismissal of the charge!

A.C.

We did exactly as Jeff instructed and the case was dismissed. There are no words to explain how happy we are with his performance.

Anonymous

Jeff was able to get my twice the legal limit BAC thrown out and he kept me from having an interlock device put on my car.

Anonymous

Hiring Jeff Kennedy turned out to be one of the best decisions of my life.

A.C.

We did exactly as Jeff instructed and the case was dismissed. There are no words to explain how happy we are with his performance.

Anonymous

Jeff was able to get my twice the legal limit BAC thrown out and he kept me from having an interlock device put on my car.

Anonymous
CONTACT US & GET THE DEFENSE YOU DESERVE
GET A FREE STRATEGY SESSION
November 21, 2019

Texas Drugged Driving Penalties 

A lot of people think that you can only get charged with a DWI in Texas if you were driving under the influence of alcohol. This is not true, though. You can be charged with driving while intoxicated if you recently used drugs before driving

The Texas statute that deals with driving while intoxicated states that an offense has occurred if a person is under the influence of any substance that alters the person’s mental and physical capabilities. This includes drugs. Some Texas drugged driving penalties are described below.

What Are the Penalties for Drugged Driving in Texas?

The penalties for drugged driving are the same as the penalties for driving while intoxicated from alcohol. For a first-time offense, you will likely be charged with a misdemeanor. Your license could be suspended, and you could spend up to 180 days in jail. You could also receive a fine up to $2,000.

For a second drugged driving offense, you could face up to a year in jail and a fine up to $2,000, as well as suspension of your license. For a third or subsequent offense, you could receive a felony charge and spend time in prison.

If you’re charged with intoxication assault or intoxication manslaughter, you could face serious felony charges and spend considerable time in prison if convicted.

The only real difference between a drugged driving charge and an alcohol-related DWI is that drugged driving is a little harder to prove. For instance, were the drugs in your system from several days before the drugged driving incident or were they from hours before the incident?  

Get in Touch with a Texas Drugged Driving Lawyer

Your drugged driving charge is serious. Texas drugged driving penalties could change your life if you’re convicted of a DWI offense. Talk to a drugged driving lawyer in Texas about your charge. Call The Law Offices of Jeff C. Kennedy at 817-605-1010 or fill out the form below.

CONTACT US & GET THE DEFENSE YOU DESERVE

Contact us today for a free strategy session on how we can help you win your case.

* All Fields Required

Or Call 817-618-5215

CONTACT US &

GET THE DEFENSE YOU DESERVE

Contact us today for a free strategy session on how we can help you win your case.

* All Fields Required

Or Call 817-618-5215