Is a DWI a Felony in Texas?
Most people know how serious it is to be arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI). But in some situations, a DWI can go from bad to categorically worse, depending on the circumstances of your case. It’s one thing to be charged with a misdemeanor, but a felony is entirely different.
Below, we go into further detail about when a DWI is considered a felony in Texas and the consequences you can face if you are found guilty of a felony DWI in Fort Worth.
When a DWI Becomes a Felony in Texas
Not every DWI will be considered a felony in the state of Texas. Whether you live in Fort Worth, San Antonio, Austin, or Dallas, the laws are all the same. First and second DWIs will be misdemeanor criminal charges. But once you have been charged with a third DWI within a ten-year period, you can expect to be facing felony charges.
However, if your first or second DWI resulted in serious injury to another person, or another person was killed due to your DWI, then you can expect to face felony DWI charges in these cases, as well.
Penalties for a Felony DWI Conviction
If you are found guilty of a felony DWI in Texas, you can expect to face serious consequences. First, you will likely be sentenced to up to ten years in prison and be ordered to pay fines as high as $10,000. You can also expect to have your license suspended for as long as two years and be required to pay an annual DMV license surcharge fee of $2,000.
Contact a DWI Lawyer in Fort Worth
If you have been arrested for a misdemeanor or felony DWI, you need exceptional legal representation now. Get help from a reputable Fort Worth DWI lawyer at The Law Offices of Jeff C. Kennedy. You can schedule a no-obligation consultation and further discuss the individual details of your case when you give our office a call at 817-605-1010 or submit the online contact form we have included below.