Fort Worth DWI Lawyer
Don’t take chances with your future after a drunk driving arrest. Instead, protect yourself with the best defense possible and work with a Fort Worth DWI attorney.
Many people make the mistake of viewing a driving while intoxicated (DWI) charge as a type of traffic offense. While this is true in some states, in Texas, drunk driving is a criminal offense and carries harsh penalties that can impact your life for years to come—possibly for the rest of your life.
Getting your DWI dismissed can save your reputation, finances, driving privileges, and—in some cases—even your freedom. From the moment you get pulled over and arrested, clearing your name needs to be your number one priority.
Beating a DWI isn’t easy, however, which is why you’ll want an experienced Fort Worth DWI lawyer on your side. At the Law Offices of Jeff C. Kennedy, that’s exactly what you’ll find. We can help you build the case that gives you the best chance of getting your drinking and driving charge dismissed.
Texas Drunk Driving Laws
In Fort Worth and the rest of Texas, anyone caught driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08 percent or higher can be arrested for DWI. This even applies to minors; although minors caught driving with a BAC of less than .08 percent will instead be charged with the lesser offense of driving under the influence (DUI).
In most cases, a breath or field sobriety test will be employed. However, Texas is also known for its “No Refusal Weekends,” when police can quickly obtain a warrant for a blood draw if they have reasonable cause to suspect someone of drunk driving.
Of course, DWI doesn’t just apply to alcohol use—you can also be charged if caught driving while intoxicated by a controlled or illegal substance, such as prescription drugs or marijuana. In the case of illegal drugs, odds are good that you’ll also be charged with a related drug offense.
Why Fight a Driving While Intoxicated Charge?
The penalties that come with a DWI conviction can be painful and long-lasting. The legal punishments are substantial, as Texas tends to take a hard line on drunk driving.
The penalty imposed by a conviction will depend on whether you have any prior drunk driving convictions on your record already. If you aren’t certain what you should expect, a DWI defense attorney from our firm can help you determine what you’re up against:
- A first DWI is a Class B misdemeanor that can result in a fine of up to $2,000, up to 180 days in jail, a one-year license suspension, and a three-year annual license retention fee of up to $2,000.
- A second DWI is a Class A misdemeanor that can result in a fine of up to $4,000, up to one year in jail, a two-year license suspension, and a three-year annual license retention fee of up to $2,000.
- A third or subsequent DWI is a third-degree felony that can result in a fine of up to $10,000, between two and ten years in prison, a two-year license suspension, and a three-year annual license retention fee of up to $2,000.
Additionally, if your BAC was higher than .15 percent, you’re facing a Class A misdemeanor with a fine of up to $4,000 and up to one year in jail.
If you get convicted for DWI at least twice within five years, the court might also require the installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle, which won’t allow you to start the car without first passing a breath test.
Finally, if your DWI arrest occurred when you had a child passenger in the vehicle, you could be charged with a state jail felony, which will result in up to a $10,000 fine, up to two years in jail, and a 180-day license suspension.
More Reasons to Challenge a DWI
Unfortunately, the legal consequences of a DWI conviction are just one factor to consider. The impact of a DWI conviction can extend deep into your personal and professional lives, as well.
In addition to the possibility of having to take driving- and alcohol-related classes, your car insurance rates are all but guaranteed to see a massive increase. This means that you could be paying out of pocket for that drunk driving arrest for years to come.
A DWI can also put your job and reputation at risk, especially if your arrest occurred while you were on the clock or in a company vehicle.
Finally, a DWI might be used against you in a family law dispute if you ever get divorced or need to fight for custody of your children.
These are all painful real-life consequences of a drunk driving charge that a Fort Worth DWI lawyer from our firm might be able to help you avoid.
The Right Defense for Your Case
It doesn’t matter if your arrest involved a field sobriety test, breathalyzer, or blood draw—odds are that there’s a way to challenge the case against you.
Our DWI attorneys have the experience needed to identify the evidence or case flaws that can be used to get your DWI dismissed:
- Fumes in the air or substances on your clothing that might have interfered with the breathalyzer
- Rocky ground that threw off your balance during a field sobriety test
- Lack of probable cause to justify pulling you over or issuing a warrant for a blood draw
- A rights violation committed by the officers who arrested you, which might see critical evidence declared inadmissible
Fort Worth DWI FAQ
An arrest for intoxicated driving will lead to a number of questions that all deserve answers. In the section below, we’ve addressed a few common concerns, but if you would like more information, please don’t hesitate to contact our office so that you can speak with one of our attorneys.
Can I get the record of a first-time DWI that resulted in jail or probation sealed?
Previously, this wasn’t an option in Texas. However, a recent law has now made this a possibility, and the good news is that it’s even retroactive. If you meet all of the necessary criteria for a DWI nondisclosure approval, you would then be allowed to say that you’ve never been convicted or even arrested for drunk driving.
What happens if I caused a car accident while driving drunk and someone else got hurt?
In this situation, you could be charged with intoxication assault, a third-degree felony offense. If someone died in the crash, you could instead be charged with intoxication manslaughter, an even more serious crime.
Can I be charged with drunk driving while operating a boat?
Yes, boating while intoxicated (BWI) is illegal in Texas. It carries the same penalties upon conviction that DWI does, which means that you’ll want to challenge the charge and seek a full dismissal or acquittal.
Connect with a DWI Defense Lawyer in Fort Worth
When you’ve been arrested and charged with intoxicated driving, you need the Law Offices of Jeff C. Kennedy on your side. We have extensive experience handling DWI cases, and we know how to build a powerful, compelling case that will give you the best chance for getting your drunk driving charge dismissed.
To discover how we can help you, contact us to set up a time for a free, confidential consultation with a Fort Worth DWI lawyer. Just complete the form at the bottom of the page or call us directly at 817-605-1010 to begin.
Law Offices of Jeff C. Kennedy Client Review:
If you are charged with a DWI in Tarrant County, do yourself a favor and hire Jeff Kennedy as your criminal defense lawyer.