Tarrant County DWI Lawyer
It can be deceptively easy to get pulled over and arrested for drunk driving. Getting a DWI dismissed is much harder, but it can be done. Speak with a Tarrant County DWI attorney to find out how.
If you’ve recently been pulled over and arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI), you’re probably wondering what you should do next. Like many people, you might even be wondering whether you really need to worry about fighting the charges.
The short answer is “yes!” A drunk driving offense is not a traffic ticket and needs to be taken seriously. DWI is a criminal charge, and a conviction means you’ll now have a criminal record to worry about, and that’s something that has the potential to follow you around for the rest of your life.
Getting a DWI dismissed or winning an acquittal isn’t easy or automatic, but it can be done when you retain the right legal counsel. By working with a Tarrant County DWI lawyer from the Law Offices of Jeff C. Kennedy, you can give yourself the best chance to clear your name and protect your future.
Why Fight a DWI in Tarrant County?
If you get convicted for driving while intoxicated, you can expect to experience a number of negative repercussions. For one, your auto insurance rates are almost certain to increase dramatically. A DWI is unlike a number of other criminal offenses in that you’ll be paying for the conviction financially for years beyond the initial fine.
Every car insurance company uses a different system, but none of them are shy about using a DWI as an excuse to charge more, likely for several years to come. And if this isn’t your first DWI, you might wind up having to resort to high-risk insurance that can make driving unreasonably expensive.
Additionally, a DWI can even cost you your job, especially if your career has involved driving up until now. Finding new employment can become equally difficult, which can then put a strain on everything from your family relations to your finances.
In the end, it’s best to do everything you can to avoid all of this, and that means working with an experienced DWI lawyer from Tarrant County. Plus, all of this hasn’t even touched on the legal consequences that a drinking and driving conviction will bring.
Texas Drunk Driving Convictions and Legal Punishment
As a general rule, Texas takes a hard line against drunk driving, as evidenced by the state’s No Refusal Weekends. The state has a tiered system for punishing DWI, meaning that the severity of your punishment will directly depend on how many past drunk driving offenses you’ve been convicted of:
- First DWI – A first-time DWI offense is a Class B misdemeanor. Conviction can result in up to 180 days in jail, up to a $2,000 fine, drivers license suspension of one year, and a three-year annual surcharge of up to $2,000 to retain a reinstated license.
- Second DWI – A second DWI offense is a Class A misdemeanor. Conviction can result in up to one year in jail, up to a $4,000 fine, drivers license suspension of two years, and a three-year annual surcharge of up to $2,000 to retain a reinstated license.
- Third or Higher DWI – Any DWI after the second is a third-degree felony. Conviction can result in between two and ten years in prison, license suspension of two years, and a three-year annual surcharge of up to $2,000 to retain a reinstated license.
Finally, two DWI convictions within a five-year period can also lead to the mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) in your automobile. This can lead to a great deal of public humiliation and awkward moments, as the IID will prevent your car from starting unless you breathe into it to pass a breath test.
Other Offenses that Can Accompany DWI in Texas
It’s not uncommon for a DWI offense to be just one of the charges you face after a traffic stop or an accident alleged to involve alcohol.
For example, DWI is normally charged when your blood alcohol content (BAC) equals or exceeds .08 percent. If your BAC was exceptionally high, specifically .15 percent or higher, you could be charged with an additional Class A misdemeanor.
DWI with a child passenger is also a criminal offense all its own. This is a state jail felony, which means you could be facing up to two years in jail, up to a $10,000 fine, and drivers license suspension of 180 days.
Accidents involving drunk driving and harm to someone else are highly likely to result in additional charges that you’ll want an experienced DWI attorney on your side to fight. If someone experiences serious bodily injury, you could be charged with intoxication assault, a third-degree felony. If someone dies in the wreck, you might face intoxication manslaughter, a second-degree felony.
The Proper Defense to Challenge Your DWI
Getting charged with driving while intoxicated usually means failing a sobriety test of some sort. This could take the form of a blood draw; a breathalyzer; or a field test that measures balance, coordination, or mental awareness.
Because these tests generally seem cut-and-dry, people often don’t see how a DWI can be beaten in court. Fortunately, in this case, popular perception is very, very wrong.
A Tarrant County DWI defense lawyer from our firm will have the experience necessary to identify the flaws in the case against you. No sobriety test is accurate all the time—not even blood and breath tests. Field sobriety tests, in particular, are very subjective and mostly up to the discretion of the administering officer.
What’s more, DWI arrests often involve rights violations that can see critical evidence thrown out of court. If the prosecution doesn’t have any evidence to support their case against you, the judge often has no choice but to rule in your favor.
Contact a DWI Attorney in Tarrant County, Texas
The Law Offices of Jeff C. Kennedy has been helping Texas residents win acquittals or see their DWI dismissed for over twenty years now. We know the local system and everyone involved. We can give you the edge you need to get the best result for your case.
We offer all new clients a free, fully confidential consultation to discuss their case in detail. Set up a time to speak with a Tarrant County DWI lawyer today and find out how to beat your driving while intoxicated charge. Just complete the form below or call us directly at 817-605-1010.