What Are The Laws on Marijuana in Texas?
Many people don’t fully understand the legal ramifications of their actions until it’s too late. Only after a marijuana arrest will you suddenly wish you’d had Texas marijuana laws explained to you.
At first, you may believe marijuana possession isn’t that serious and you’ll only get a slap on the wrist. However, the state of Texas takes a harsher stance toward marijuana crimes than most other states. Read on for a look at the penalties for marijuana crimes in Texas.
Is Medical Marijuana Legal in Texas?
The state of TX is very strict pertaining to Marijuana, and although medical Marijuana is used across the country, it is not allowed in the state of Texas. The only exception is if a case falls into the compassionate-use law, which allows THC to be prescribed to those with specific conditions. This prescription is limited to 1% THC .
Requirements for a medical marijuana prescription:
- The prescribed patient must be a resident of Texas
- The prescriber has complied with specific registration requirements in Texas
- The prescriber determines that the risk of using 1% THC is reasonable and a benefit of the patient.
- The Prescribed is diagnosed with an incurable neurodegenerative disease, cancer, epilepsy, seizures, multiple sclerosis, cancer, autism or PTSD
What Are The Penalties For Marijuana Possession in Texas?
The penalties for possession and sale are the major marijuana-related crimes in Texas. For a breakdown of Texas marijuana crimes and charges, see the table below for more information:
- Possession of under two ounces – Class B misdemeanor includes 180 days in jail and $2,000 fine
- Possession between two to four ounces – Class A Misdemeanor with up to 1 year in jail and a $4,000 fine
- Possession of between four ounces and five pounds – State jail felony includes 180 days to 2 years in jail and $10,000 fine
- Possession of five to fifty pounds – Third-degree felony – facing 2 to 20 years and $10,000 fine
- Possession of fifty to 2,000 pounds – Second-degree felony Facing 5 to 99 years and a $10,000 fine
- Possession of over 2,000 pounds – Five to ninety-nine years or life in prison and $10,000 fine.
Penalties for Sale or Distribution of Marijuana In The State of Texas
These penalties can be increased if sold to a minor or within a drug free zone.
- Sale of 0.25 ounces or less – Class A or B misdemeanor with 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine.
- Sale of 0.25 ounces to five pounds – State jail felony facing 180 days to 2 years and a $10,000 fine
- Sale of between five and fifty pounds – Second-degree felony facing 2 years to 20 years with a $10,000 fine
- Sale of between fifty and 2,000 pounds – First-degree felony facing life or 5 to 99 years and a $10,000 fine
- Sale of more than 2,000 pounds – Ten to ninety-nine years or life in prison and $10,000 fine
A Marijuana Conviction Affects Your Life in Many Ways
Being caught with marijuana may seem trivial at first, but if you’re convicted, you will quickly discover how that offense can negatively impact your life. Even misdemeanor convictions can affect your job prospects, your freedom, your family life, and your financial stability.
Call To Speak With Jeff C. Kennedy A Qualified Attorney Who Has Experience Fighting Possession and Distribution Charges