Hiring Jeff Kennedy turned out to be one of the best decisions of my life. Mr. Kennedy was able to have my case dismissed. Yes, outright dismissal of the charge!

A.C.

We did exactly as Jeff instructed and the case was dismissed. There are no words to explain how happy we are with his performance.

Anonymous

Jeff was able to get my twice the legal limit BAC thrown out and he kept me from having an interlock device put on my car.

Anonymous

Hiring Jeff Kennedy turned out to be one of the best decisions of my life.

A.C.

We did exactly as Jeff instructed and the case was dismissed. There are no words to explain how happy we are with his performance.

Anonymous

Jeff was able to get my twice the legal limit BAC thrown out and he kept me from having an interlock device put on my car.

Anonymous
CONTACT US & GET THE DEFENSE YOU DESERVE
GET A FREE STRATEGY SESSION

Texas Controlled Substances Laws

If you’ve been charged with a drug charge in Fort Worth, you may be in need of some information on controlled substances laws. Conviction on a drug crime can significantly alter your life, so speak with an attorney about your case.

Drug laws can be complicated and difficult to understand, so we’ve broken the laws and penalties down for you below.

What Are The Laws and Penalties for Drug Offenses in Texas?

If you’re convicted of a drug crime, the penalties can vary, depending on the amount you’re found in possession of, your intent (use or sale), what kind of drug it was, and your criminal history.

Possession of Controlled Substances

  • The minimum penalties for drug possession are confinement in jail for up to 180 days, a fine of up to $2,000, possible probation, and possible drug treatment.
  • The maximum penalties for drug possession are prison for life and a fine of up to $250,000.

Delivery or Manufacture of Controlled Substances

  • The minimum penalties for drug delivery or manufacture are confinement in jail for up to 180 days, a fine of up to $2,000, possible probation, and possible drug treatment.
  • The maximum penalties for drug delivery or manufacture are life in prison and a fine of up to $250,000.

Possession of Marijuana

  • The minimum penalties for marijuana possession are confinement in jail for up to 180 days, a fine of up to $2,000, possible probation, and possible drug treatment.
  • The maximum penalties for marijuana possession are prison for life and a fine of up to $50,000.

Penalty Group 1: Cocaine, heroin, methamphetamine, ketamine,

  • State jail felony: Less than one gram. Fine: Up to $10,000. Prison sentence: Between 180 days and two years in prison
  • Felony of the 3rd Degree: Between one and four grams. Fine: Up to $10,000. Prison sentence: Between two and ten years
  • Felony of the 2nd Degree: Between four and 200 grams. Fine: Up to $10,000. Prison sentence: Between two and twenty years
  • Felony of the 1st Degree: Between 200 and 400 grams. Fine: Up to $100,000. Prison sentence: Between five and 99 years
  • Enhanced Felony of the 1st Degree: 400 grams or more. Fine: Up to $100,000. Prison sentence: Between ten and 99 years in prison

Penalty Group 1-A: Lysergic acid and LSD

  • State jail felony: Fewer than 20 units. Fine: Up to $10,000. Prison sentence: Between 180 days and two years
  • Felony of the 3rd Degree: Between twenty and eighty units. Fine: Up to $10,000. Prison sentence: Between two and ten years
  • Felony of the 2nd Degree: Between eighty and 4,000 units. Fine: Up to $10,000. Prison sentence: Between five and twenty years
  • Felony of the 1st Degree: 4,000 or more units. Fine: Up to $250,000. Prison sentence: Between fifteen and 99 years

Penalty Group 2: Mushrooms and Psilocybin

  • State jail felony: Less than one gram. Fine: Up to $10,000. Prison sentence: Between 180 days and two years in prison
  • Felony of the 3rd Degree: Between one and four grams. Fine: Up to $10,000. Prison sentence: Between two and ten years
  • Felony of the 2nd Degree: Between four and 400 grams. Fine: Up to $10,000. Prison sentence: Between two and twenty years
  • Felony of the 1st Degree: 400 grams or more. Fine: Up to $100,000. Prison sentence: Between five and 99 years

Penalty Group 3: Anabolic steroids, Xanax, Lorazepam

  • Class A Misdemeanor: Less than 28 grams. Fine: Up to $4,000. Jail sentence: Up to one year
  • Felony of the 3rd Degree: Between 28 and 200 grams. Fine: Up to $10,000. Prison sentence: Between two and ten years
  • Felony of the 2nd Degree: Between 200 and 400 grams. Fine: Up to $10,000. Prison sentence: Between two and twenty years
  • Felony of the 1st Degree: 400 grams or more. Fine: Up to $50,000. Prison sentence: Between five and 99 years

Penalty Group 4: Compounds with small amounts of codeine or opium

  • Class B Misdemeanor: Less than 28 grams. Fine: Up to $2,000. Jail sentence: Up to 180 days
  • Felony of the 3rd Degree: Between 28 and 200 grams. Fine: Up to $10,000. Prison sentence: Between two and ten years
  • Felony of the 2nd Degree: Between 200 and 400 grams. Fine: Up to $10,000. Prison sentence: Between two and twenty years
  • Felony of the 1st Degree: 400 grams or more.  Fine: Up to $50,000. Prison sentence: Between five and 99 years

CONTACT US & GET THE DEFENSE YOU DESERVE

Contact us today for a free strategy session on how we can help you win your case.

* All Fields Required

Or Call 817-605-1010

CONTACT US &

GET THE DEFENSE YOU DESERVE

Contact us today for a free strategy session on how we can help you win your case.

* All Fields Required

Or Call 817-605-1010