Hiring Jeff Kennedy turned out to be one of the best decisions of my life. Mr. Kennedy was able to have my case dismissed. Yes, outright dismissal of the charge!

A.C.

We did exactly as Jeff instructed and the case was dismissed. There are no words to explain how happy we are with his performance.

Anonymous

Jeff was able to get my twice the legal limit BAC thrown out and he kept me from having an interlock device put on my car.

Anonymous

Hiring Jeff Kennedy turned out to be one of the best decisions of my life.

A.C.

We did exactly as Jeff instructed and the case was dismissed. There are no words to explain how happy we are with his performance.

Anonymous

Jeff was able to get my twice the legal limit BAC thrown out and he kept me from having an interlock device put on my car.

Anonymous
CONTACT US & GET THE DEFENSE YOU DESERVE
GET A FREE STRATEGY SESSION

DWI with a Child Passenger

The state of Texas treats driving while intoxicated (DWI) arrests and convictions seriously. Even first-time DWI offenders can face some serious consequences and legal penalties, including jail time, fines, and a suspended license. 

There are some additional complicating factors that can make a DWI charge even more severe. One of these is getting charged with a DWI with a child passenger. 

If you’ve been charged with DWI with a child passenger, you need the help of an experienced DWI defense attorney in order to beat the charge and avoid the enhanced penalties that come with it. 

DWI with Child Passengers in Texas Law

Anytime you drive a motor vehicle, you also owe a duty of care to any passengers who are traveling with you. 

This also applies to child passengers, including those with any relation to you, such as your children or a niece or nephew. 

Texas law prohibits you getting behind the wheel while intoxicated. This means if you get pulled over with a BAC (blood alcohol content) above .08, you would be considered legally intoxicated and, by extension, subject to a DWI arrest in Texas

Just as the name suggests, people who get arrested for a DWI while transporting a child in their vehicle with them could be charged with the elevated charge of DWI with a child passenger. 

The consequences for this crime are quite serious, and can include:

  • A state jail felony sentence between 180 and 720 days 
  • A drivers license suspension of up to 180 days
  • Fines up to $10,000
  • Obligatory driving intervention course
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device 

In addition, you could face additional penalties, such as scrutiny from Child Protective Services that could even lead to your losing custody of your children. 

Obviously, these are drastic measures that you will want to avoid if possible. If you’ve been arrested or charged, consult an experienced attorney as soon as possible. 

Contact a DWI Lawyer Right Away

Arrested for DWI with a child passenger? An attorney from The Law Offices of Jeff C. Kennedy wants to help you do what’s possible to dismiss all DWI charges

Call 817-605-1010 or fill out the form below to learn more. 

CONTACT US & GET THE DEFENSE YOU DESERVE

Contact us today for a free strategy session on how we can help you win your case.

* All Fields Required

Or Call 817-605-1010

CONTACT US &

GET THE DEFENSE YOU DESERVE

Contact us today for a free strategy session on how we can help you win your case.

* All Fields Required

Or Call 817-605-1010