Hiring Jeff Kennedy turned out to be one of the best decisions of my life. Mr. Kennedy was able to have my case dismissed. Yes, outright dismissal of the charge!

A.C.

We did exactly as Jeff instructed and the case was dismissed. There are no words to explain how happy we are with his performance.

Anonymous

Jeff was able to get my twice the legal limit BAC thrown out and he kept me from having an interlock device put on my car.

Anonymous

Hiring Jeff Kennedy turned out to be one of the best decisions of my life.

A.C.

We did exactly as Jeff instructed and the case was dismissed. There are no words to explain how happy we are with his performance.

Anonymous

Jeff was able to get my twice the legal limit BAC thrown out and he kept me from having an interlock device put on my car.

Anonymous
CONTACT US & GET THE DEFENSE YOU DESERVE
GET A FREE STRATEGY SESSION
November 22, 2019

Grapevine DWI Lawyer

A drunk driving arrest doesn’t have to ruin your future and your wellbeing. You might be able to beat the charge against you, and a Grapevine DWI attorney can show you how.

It’s surprisingly easy to get pulled over and arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Texas, especially during a No Refusal Weekend. Unfortunately, it’s not so easy to avoid a conviction for DWI.

That doesn’t mean it’s impossible, however. With the right defense attorney on your side, you can identify the weak point in the case against you and build a defense around it.

Contact a Grapevine DWI lawyer at the Law Offices of Jeff C. Kennedy today to find out what the optimal defense for your drunk driving case is.

Penalties for DUI in Texas

First and foremost, let’s make a distinction between the terms DWI and DUI (driving under the influence), as Texas is unlike most states in having separate statutes for the two.

While both involve being affected by alcohol while driving, a DUI is specifically applied to cases involving an individual under twenty-one years of age who has any blood alcohol content (BAC) up to .08 percent. If the BAC is .08 percent or higher, the minor will instead be charged with DWI.

A DUI in Grapevine and the rest of Texas is a Class C misdemeanor that carries up to a $500 fine, a sixty-day drivers license suspension, between twenty and forty hours of community service, and mandatory attendance of an alcohol awareness class.

Texas Penalties for DWI

Meanwhile, anyone twenty-one years old or older can be charged with DWI should he or she exceed Texas’ legal BAC level of .08 percent while driving.

First-time DWI offenders can be hit with fines up to $2,000, along with possible jail time and suspension of their license.

Subsequent offenses not only impose harsher penalties, but may result in the mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle that prevents you from driving when not sober.

Your Grapevine DWI attorney will help you determine what penalties you’re likely to face if you’re unsure.

DWI Charges Can Be Beaten

Although Texas law may seem to favor the cop who pulled you over, defendants have a number of defenses at their disposal that can be used to help prove innocence.

One common defense is formally challenging the results of a blood test. Oftentimes, a defendant can make the legitimate claim that the test was faulty, either by nature or by circumstance, making it inadmissible as evidence.

Getting pulled over for a questionable, potentially illegal reason may provide an additional line of defense. In other words, the police officer who cited you for DWI must have had a legitimate reason to pull you over (i.e., probable cause) while not violating your constitutional rights in the process.

Any evidence obtained in a legally questionable manner could be thrown out, which means that the prosecutor cannot use those pieces of evidence against you in your criminal case.

Contact a Grapevine DWI Defense Lawyer

When you’ve been arrested for DWI, it’s only natural to wonder if you can clear your name of the charge against you and how your life will be impacted if you get convicted.

Will I lose my driving privileges? Will I go to jail? Will this go on my record?

With the help of the Law Offices of Jeff C. Kennedy, there’s a solid chance that all of these questionsand all of their accompanying worriescan be banished.

Call us today at 817-605-1010 or complete the contact form below for a free, confidential case evaluation with a Grapevine DWI lawyer.

CONTACT US & GET THE DEFENSE YOU DESERVE

Contact us today for a free strategy session on how we can help you win your case.

* All Fields Required

Or Call 817-618-5215

CONTACT US &

GET THE DEFENSE YOU DESERVE

Contact us today for a free strategy session on how we can help you win your case.

* All Fields Required

Or Call 817-618-5215