Hiring Jeff Kennedy turned out to be one of the best decisions of my life. Mr. Kennedy was able to have my case dismissed. Yes, outright dismissal of the charge!

A.C.

We did exactly as Jeff instructed and the case was dismissed. There are no words to explain how happy we are with his performance.

Anonymous

Jeff was able to get my twice the legal limit BAC thrown out and he kept me from having an interlock device put on my car.

Anonymous

Hiring Jeff Kennedy turned out to be one of the best decisions of my life.

A.C.

We did exactly as Jeff instructed and the case was dismissed. There are no words to explain how happy we are with his performance.

Anonymous

Jeff was able to get my twice the legal limit BAC thrown out and he kept me from having an interlock device put on my car.

Anonymous
CONTACT US & GET THE DEFENSE YOU DESERVE
GET A FREE STRATEGY SESSION
November 22, 2019

Texas DWI Laws

Being arrested for on a DWI charge is a scary thing. You may not realize this, but many people who are arrested for a DWI don’t believe they were intoxicated at the time of their arrest. They felt fine when they decided to drive and didn’t think they were driving drunk or breaking any laws.

The problem is that many people don’t know Texas DWI laws. They don’t realize that you can still be charged with a DWI even if you’re not over the legal limit. If an officer pulls you over and believes you to be “impaired,” he or she can charge you with a DWI.

Don’t lose hope just because you’ve been charged with driving while intoxicated. There are ways to beat the charge. It may be helpful for you to take a look at the DWI laws in Texas, which we will describe below.

Punishments for DWIs in Texas

The following chart should give you an idea of the crimes and punishments that fall under Texas DWI laws:

OffensePunishment
First DWI Offense – MisdemeanorUp to $2,000 fine, three to 180 days in jail, license suspension up to one year, additional fees to retain license
Second DWI Offense – MisdemeanorUp to $4,000 fine, one month to one year in jail, license suspension up to two years, additional fees to retain license
Third DWI Offense – State Jail FelonyUp to $10,000 fine, two to ten years in prison, license suspension up to two years, additional fees to retain license
DWI with a Child Passenger – State Jail FelonyUp to $10,000 fine, up to two years in state jail, license suspension for 180 days
Intoxication Assault – Third-Degree FelonySerious prison time and fines
Intoxication Manslaughter – Second-Degree FelonySerious prison time and fines

 

Possible Defenses

Hiring an attorney can increase the chances of your drunk driving charges being dropped, dismissed, or reduced. Here are some example defenses your attorney could use on your behalf:

  • You weren’t drinking at all.
  • You weren’t impaired.
  • The arresting officer violated your rights.
  • The field sobriety or breath test was inaccurate.
  • The lab made a mistake.
  • You weren’t driving.

Need a Texas DWI Lawyer?

Call the Law Offices of Jeff C. Kennedy at 817-605-1010 to get a free case review. You can also fill out the form below, and we’ll reach out to you. Texas DWI laws are confusing, so it’s often helpful to speak with legal counsel before making any decisions about your case.

CONTACT US & GET THE DEFENSE YOU DESERVE

Contact us today for a free strategy session on how we can help you win your case.

* All Fields Required

Or Call 817-618-5215

CONTACT US &

GET THE DEFENSE YOU DESERVE

Contact us today for a free strategy session on how we can help you win your case.

* All Fields Required

Or Call 817-618-5215