Hiring Jeff Kennedy turned out to be one of the best decisions of my life. Mr. Kennedy was able to have my case dismissed. Yes, outright dismissal of the charge!

A.C.

We did exactly as Jeff instructed and the case was dismissed. There are no words to explain how happy we are with his performance.

Anonymous

Jeff was able to get my twice the legal limit BAC thrown out and he kept me from having an interlock device put on my car.

Anonymous

Hiring Jeff Kennedy turned out to be one of the best decisions of my life.

A.C.

We did exactly as Jeff instructed and the case was dismissed. There are no words to explain how happy we are with his performance.

Anonymous

Jeff was able to get my twice the legal limit BAC thrown out and he kept me from having an interlock device put on my car.

Anonymous
CONTACT US & GET THE DEFENSE YOU DESERVE
GET A FREE STRATEGY SESSION
November 22, 2019

Penalties for First-Time DWI in Texas

It’s unfortunate that many people don’t understand the severity of consequences of their actions before they’re arrested for a crime. DWIs, in particular, are taken very lightly until you’re hit with a DWI in Texas and you realize what the penalties actually are. They aren’t as forgiving of a first offense as you might think.

In fact, DWI offenses can have severe consequences, both in the short- and long-term. Your future can be forever impacted by a DWI conviction; most notably your job prospects could be seriously limited.

Below, we cover the penalties for a first-time DWI in Texas. You might want to think about fighting that DWI charge, because if you don’t, you might regret that decision later. Reach out to a Texas DWI lawyer for help building your defense.

Penalties for Drunk Driving in Texas

The penalties for a misdemeanor first-time DWI in Texas are as follows:

  • Up to $2,000 fine
  • Between three and 180 days in jail
  • The loss of your driver’s license for up to one year
  • License retention fee between $1,000 and $2,000

Other consequences of a first-offense DWI include probation, community service, job loss, financial struggles, and embarrassment.

If your first-offense DWI included a child passenger in the vehicle, your penalties will include up to $10,000 fine, up to two years in jail, and loss of driver’s license for at least 180 days.

Get in Touch with a DWI Attorney in Texas

Now you understand that the penalties for first-time DWI offenders in Texas are a bigger deal than you might have once thought. The only way to avoid the penalties associated with drunk driving is to avoid conviction entirely. Everyone is entitled to a defense, and your lawyer can build the best defense possible for your case.

Reach out to The Law Offices of Jeff C. Kennedy to speak with a DWI lawyer about your case today. Our firm can be reached via the online form below, or by dialing 817-605-1010.

CONTACT US & GET THE DEFENSE YOU DESERVE

Contact us today for a free strategy session on how we can help you win your case.

* All Fields Required

Or Call 817-618-5215

CONTACT US &

GET THE DEFENSE YOU DESERVE

Contact us today for a free strategy session on how we can help you win your case.

* All Fields Required

Or Call 817-618-5215