Hiring Jeff Kennedy turned out to be one of the best decisions of my life. Mr. Kennedy was able to have my case dismissed. Yes, outright dismissal of the charge!

A.C.

We did exactly as Jeff instructed and the case was dismissed. There are no words to explain how happy we are with his performance.

Anonymous

Jeff was able to get my twice the legal limit BAC thrown out and he kept me from having an interlock device put on my car.

Anonymous

Hiring Jeff Kennedy turned out to be one of the best decisions of my life.

A.C.

We did exactly as Jeff instructed and the case was dismissed. There are no words to explain how happy we are with his performance.

Anonymous

Jeff was able to get my twice the legal limit BAC thrown out and he kept me from having an interlock device put on my car.

Anonymous
CONTACT US & GET THE DEFENSE YOU DESERVE
GET A FREE STRATEGY SESSION
November 18, 2019

What Are the Penalties for DWI in Texas?

Have you recently been charged with drunk driving? Then you’re probably wondering about the penalties for DWI in Texas. As with most crimes, the legal penalties will vary, depending on several factors: your criminal history, whether you have prior DWIs, any aggravating factors, and the other circumstances of your case.

In addition to the legal penalties, a DWI conviction will have many other consequences. You may struggle to secure decent employment, you can lose your license, and you could severely impact your family and your financial situation.

Below is a quick look at the legal punishments you could face if you’re convicted of a DWI in Texas.

Penalties for Your Texas DWI

OffenseLegal Penalties
First-Offense DWI (no aggravating factors)Misdemeanor, up to six months in jail, $2,000 fine, license suspension, possible probation, ignition interlock device
Second-Offense DWI (no aggravating factors)Misdemeanor, up to a year in jail, $4,000 fine, license suspension, probation, ignition interlock device
Third-Offense DWI (no aggravating factors)Felony, prison for up to ten years, $10,000 fine, license suspension, probation, ignition interlock device
DWI with Child PassengerFelony, state jail up to two years, $10,000 fine, license suspension, probation, ignition interlock device
Intoxication AssaultThird-degree felony, prison up to ten years, $10,000 fine, license suspension, probation, ignition interlock device
Intoxication ManslaughterSecond-degree felony, prison for up to twenty years, $10,000 fine, license suspension, probation, ignition interlock device

Need a Fort Worth DWI Lawyer in Your Corner?

What are the penalties for DWI in Texas? As you can see, they’re pretty severe. That’s why you need to contact an attorney with the Law Offices of Jeff C. Kennedy right away. An attorney can help you keep a drunk driving conviction off of your record. Discuss your case with us. Fill out the form below or dial 817-605-1010.

CONTACT US & GET THE DEFENSE YOU DESERVE

Contact us today for a free strategy session on how we can help you win your case.

* All Fields Required

Or Call 817-618-5215

CONTACT US &

GET THE DEFENSE YOU DESERVE

Contact us today for a free strategy session on how we can help you win your case.

* All Fields Required

Or Call 817-618-5215